Logo Logo

Parafia Św. Stanisława Biskupa i Męczennika

Bishop and Martyr

New Haven, Connecticut


Parish Council

In November of 1965, the Second Vatican Council released the document, Apostolicam Actuositatem – The Decree on the Apostolate of Lay People. The decree declared that every baptized Catholic is called to be engaged in the Mission of the Church. Following the Council, Bishops were encouraged to establish Pastoral Councils in parishes to assist in the Church’s apostolic work. “Through these councils, the Christian faithful, along with those who share in the pastoral care of the parish, …give their help in fostering pastoral activity.” These councils were to advise the pastor on all matters affecting parish life and mission; they were to call forth the gifts and talents of all the lay members of the parish in service to the apostolate.

Since that time, Parish Councils have mobilized the talents and energy of the laity in a leadership capacity within the parish. As advisors to the pastor, Parish Council members must be people who know their faith, their parishioners, and the greater community in which the mission of the parish takes place. Together with their pastor, they work to discern God’s will in fulfilling the Mission of Jesus in this particular time and place.

The members of the St. Stanislaus Parish Council are:

President – Joanne Turecek
Secretary – Patricia Martucci
Malgorzata Fekieta
Shawn Freel
Bruce Przygocki
Genevieve Przygocki
Bernice Kijewski
Ewa Kobierowski
Helena Novak
Anna Pliszka
Walter Skomro, Jr.
Kathryn Soleski
Henrietta Szymolon
Ray Wilonski

Christopher Tomlin
Paul Broniek
Robert Lane

Parish Trustees
Robert Lane
Michael Martucci